Beyond Russia overview

We invite you to visit countries located beyond Russia. Historically majority of these countries were previously part of the Russian Empire and then part of the USSR. Now they are still closely connected with Russia economically and culturally. Latvia, Lithuania and Estonia are located on the Baltic See coast. These countries have great historical and cultural ties with Sweden, Denmark, Poland, and Germany. Even being part of the Russian Empire and the USSR they always stood out for their Western flavor.

Belarus (Byelorussia) and Ukraine are closed to Russia from the West. Belarusian and Ukrainian languages together with Russian make up the Eastern Slavic language subgroup. These three peoples have common roots. All of them had a common home — the ancient state of Kievan Rus. After the defeat of Kievan Rus by the Mongols the ancient Russian people were divided and three separate Nations gradually formed on the territory of the former Kievan Rus.

The territory of the modern Republic of Moldova became part of Russia in 1812. As the result of the war with the Ottoman Empire Russia acquired Bessarabia — part of the  historical Romanian Principality of Moldova. Modern Republic of Moldova is still a whimsical mix of Romanian and Slavic traditions.

Armenia, Azerbaijan and Georgia located in Transcaucasia became part of Russia in the early XIX century. Located on the border of Europe and Asia, the Christian and Islamic worlds these countries will impress you with the beauty of their nature, original architecture and unforgettable hospitality of their inhabitants.  

The countries of Central Asia (Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Turkmenistan, Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan) are located in the South from Russia. Here you will fully enjoy the Oriental flavor in its whimsical intertwining with Russian and Soviet heritage.